Panier

Des vieilles nouvelles

  Evangeline School's Arts and culture class releases a brand new CD!

(Abram’s Village, February 9th, 2021) – – As we all look forward to today’s news and challenges becoming old news, come celebrate with Evangeline School's Arts and Culture class the launch of its new CD: Des vieilles nouvelles. (Old News). This recording project features eight talented, high-school students performing classics from the traditional and popular Acadian repertoires as well as songs popularized by some of Canada’s best songwriters. Be the first to discover this new addition to the Evangeline Region's vibrant musical scene!

“The students have really done excellent work,” says music teacher, Chuck Arsenault, former member of the Acadian musical group Barachois and project co-ordinator for the CD. “One of the goals of the Arts and culture Specialisation is to give students practical experiences to reinforce the skills they learn. The students’ willingness to set goals, to do the work, to collaborate, and to stretch their musical abilities has allowed them to create six solid tracks of beautiful music. Their individual musical backgrounds and preferences, as well as their desire to help others have brought a good feeling to the music that will, no doubt, bring a smile to your face.”

One of the goals of the album is to raise funds for Tracy Arsenault. An Evangeline School alumni and bus driver, Tracy was diagnosed with aggressive Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma cancer in June 2020. “She is an amazing step-dancer, step-dancing teacher, aunt to Dawson and Gilbert Arsenault of our Arts and Culture class, and a very active member of the community,” says class member, Alyssa Gallant. “Tracy has done a lot for us and our school, and now it’s our turn to do something for her”

The students featured on the CD are Amber Arsenault, piano, vocals, and percussion; Dawson Arsenault, piano, lead-vocals, and guitar; Gilbert Arsenault, fiddle, banjo, and cello; Mia Bernard, bass and lead vocals; Briley Cameron, drums, percussion, and vocals; Alyssa Gallant, mandolin, ukulele, and vocals; Andraya Gallant, guitar, and lead vocals; and Jaden McGinnis, drums, percussion, and vocals.

An Evangeline School production, Des vieilles nouvelles was recorded and co-produced at the Goéland Centre by a trio of former Evangeline School students, Donald Richard, Rémi Arsenault, and Maurice Hashie. Local musicians Patricia Richard, Albert Arsenault, Alice Bérubé, and Josée Boudreau all helped the students craft the musical arrangements in class and in studio, while another Evangeline School alumnus, Megan Bergeron, of Fresh Start Digital, created the graphic design.

“They worked so hard on this CD. For a group of high-school students, they showed professionalism and a great work-ethic,” says volunteer, veteran musician and community development agent Patricia Richard. “From the first rehearsals in September, we all knew it was going to be a lot of work, a lot of fun, and most of all, something special. It is wonderful for us at the CSCÉ to see the school, volunteers, organisations such as the Goéland Centre, and programs like PassepARTS and ArtsSmarts coming together to help the students achieve. Bravo!”

$10.00

Shipping options are available during checkout. If you prefer to order in person or by phone  you can speak with Annette at the CSCÉ by dialing 902-854-2166 or by email : reception@cscevangeline.ca.

If you've already pre-purchased your CD, Thank you so much! It can be picked up between 8AM and 4PM at the CSCÉ office located at the school. Call Annette ahead of time to set up a time.

Des vieilles nouvelles

  La classe d’Arts et culture lance un album!

(Abram-Village, le 9 février 2021) – Alors que nous attendons tous que les nouvelles et les défis d’aujourd’hui deviennent de l’histoire ancienne, venez célébrer avec la classe d’Arts et culture de l’école Évangéline le lancement de leur nouveau CD : Des vieilles nouvelles. Ce projet d’enregistrement met en vedette huit talentueux élèves du secondaire qui interprètent des classiques tirés des répertoires traditionnels et populaires acadiens ainsi que des chansons popularisées par certains des meilleurs auteurs-compositeurs canadiens. Soyez les premiers à découvrir ce nouvel ajout à la scène musicale de la région!

« Les élèves ont vraiment fait un excellent travail, » déclare l’enseignant de musique Chuck Arsenault, ancien membre du groupe musical acadien Barachois et coordinateur de projet pour le CD. « Un des objectifs de la spécialisation Arts et culture est de donner aux élèves des expériences pratiques pour appuyer les compétences qu’ils apprennent. La volonté des élèves de se fixer des objectifs, de faire le travail, de collaborer et d’étendre leurs capacités musicales leur a permis de créer six solides pièces de belle musique. Leurs préférences musicales individuelles, ainsi que leur désir de venir en aide à une personne bien-aimée, ont apporté un sentiment positif à la musique qui, sans aucun doute, vous fera sourire. »

Un des objectifs de l’album est de collecter des fonds pour Tracy Arsenault. Ancienne élève de l’école Évangéline et conductrice d’autobus, Tracy a été diagnostiquée avec un cancer agressif de type lymphome non hodgkinien en juin 2020. « Elle est une gigueuse extraordinaire, une enseignante de danse à claquettes, la tante de Dawson et Gilbert Arsenault de notre classe d’Arts et culture et un membre très actif de la communauté, » dit Alyssa Gallant, aussi membre de la classe. « Tracy a beaucoup fait pour nous et notre école, et, maintenant, c’est à notre tour de faire quelque chose pour elle. »

Les élèves figurant sur le CD sont Amber Arsenault, piano, chant et percussions; Dawson Arsenault, piano, chant et guitare; Gilbert Arsenault, violon, banjo et violoncelle; Mia Bernard, basse et chant; Briley Cameron, batterie, percussions et chant; Alyssa Gallant, mandoline, ukulélé et chant; Andraya Gallant, guitare et chant; et Jaden McInnis, batterie, percussions et chant.

Une production de l’école Évangéline, Des vieilles nouvelles a été enregistré et coproduit au Centre Goéland par un trio d’anciens élèves de l’école Évangéline : Donald Richard, Rémi Arsenault et Maurice Hashie. Les musiciens locaux Patricia Richard, Albert Arsenault, Alice Bérubé et Josée Boudreau ont tous aidé les élèves à créer les arrangements musicaux en classe et en studio, tandis qu’une autre ancienne de l’école Évangéline, Megan Bergeron, de Fresh Start Digital, a créé la conception graphique.

« Les jeunes ont travaillé tellement fort sur ce CD. Pour un groupe d’élèves du secondaire, ils ont fait preuve de professionnalisme et d’une excellente éthique de travail, » déclare Patricia Richard, bénévole, musicienne et agente de développement communautaire. « Dès les premières répétitions, nous savions tous que cela allait être beaucoup de travail, beaucoup de plaisir et quelque chose de spécial. C’est merveilleux pour nous à la CSCÉ de voir l’école, les bénévoles, les organisations comme le Centre Goéland et les programmes tels que PassepARTS et GénieArts se rassembler pour aider les élèves à réussir.

$10.00

Si vous désirez faire votre commande en personne ou par téléphone, veuillez communiquer avec Annette en composant le 902-854-2166 ou au CSCÉ à l’adresse courriel suivante : reception@cscevangeline.ca.

Si vous avez acheté votre CD à l’avance, merci ! Vous pourrez ramasser votre commande entre 8 h et 16 h au bureau du CSCÉ à partir du 25 février. Veuillez appeler Annette à l’avance pour organiser un temps.